Shame and Medicine Exeter
Toggle navigation Open search Twitter LinkedIn Facebook Newsletter


The project is collaborating with a number of individuals and organisations.  Our individual collaborators are experts from various fields and practices.  Along with our collaborating organisations they bring valuable expertise to our research and activities.

Individual Collaborators

  • Diane Aubin – Diane Aubin Consulting
  • Will Bynum IV – Duke University
  • Daniele Carrieri – University of Exeter
  • Mark Exworthy – University of Birmingham
  • João Florêncio – Linköping University
  • Nicola Gale – University of Birmingham
  • Michael Gallen – Composer
  • Meg-John Barker – Trainer and Writer
  • Phil Hutchinson – Manchester Metropolitan University
  • Dawn Leeming – University of Huddersfield
  • Gemma Lucas – University of Exeter
  • Penelope Lusk – University of Pennsylvania
  • Sandy Miles – Medical educator – HEE Wessex GP tutor
  • Julia Neville – University of Exeter & Devon History Society
  • Haley Peckham – Trainer and Facilitator
  • Matthew Ratcliffe – University of York
  • Mary Robson – Durham University
  • Tanisha Spratt – University of Greenwich
  • Supriya Subramani – University of Sydney
  • Charlotte Wu – Harness Health Global

Collaborating Organisations

Birmingham and Women’s NHS Hospital Trust

Centre for Medical History, University of Exeter

Centre for Subjectivity Research, University of Copenhagen

Devon County Council

Devon History Society

Grief: A Study of Human Emotional Experience, University of York

Institute for Medical Humanities, Durham University

Nordic Network for Gender, Body & Health

The Nocturnists

Trauma Informed Plymouth Network

College of Medicine and Health

WHO Collaborating Centre for Culture and Health, University of Exeter

CoRE – Copenhagen Centre for Health Research in the Humanities

Devon and Cornwall Police

Duke University

The Shame Space

Office of the Police and Crime Commissioner for Devon, Cornwall and Isles of Scilly

Duke-NUS Medical School